Ellan Vannin Native Pony Association

Click here to edit subtitle

Our 2018 Prize Winners

🌟Pony of the Year 2018🌟

1. Conrhenny Princess Bee, C Graham

2. Llanai Poetry, Gracie Kewley

3. Kaybrook Juno, Breeshey Fromm

4. Dryknowl Colkirk, Beatrice Walker

5. Deep Blue, Tiger France

6. Hardrich Charity, Tayla Griffin

🌟Horse of the Year 2018🌟

1. Perfectly Presented, Jade Woodward

2. Ballaloobey Clover, Joanne Brown

3. Avanti Gutsy Gordon, Lily Warburton

4= Clonmorans Skyrofino, Anna Higgins/Lottie Moore

4= Trevor, Rose Crellin

6. Coleman,  Angie Goody

🌟Special Awards🌟

🏆Working Hunter Pony: Deep Blue, Tiger France

🏆Working Hunter: Clonmorans Skyrofino, Anna Higgins/Lottie Moore

🏆Committee Choice: Alisha Blower 

🏆Stewards Choice: Isabel Ennett 

🏵Committees Special Awards: Oliver Moore and Percy Hampton

EVNPA Trophy Show - July 2018

Ellan Vannin Native Pony Association held their Trophy Show on Sunday 22nd July welcoming judges Ms Beverley Calderbank, Ms Vivien  Shepley and Mr Johnathon  Davies – who very kindly stood in at short notice when Ms Jean Marsden was unable to travel. With a record number of entries all three judges and their stewards were kept busy from 9am until late afternoon, and were grateful for some high cloud which reduced the temperature a little.  The club has made use of UK panel judges for their June and July shows for the last 3 seasons and competitors welcome the opportunity to receive expert judging and, often, useful tips on how to improve their performance prior to the two Island agricultural shows.  In return, the judges are quick to praise those have clearly listened to that advice and act on it in later classes. 

In addition to the usual section championships a new competition was run throughout the day with judges awarding ‘Best Turned Out’ in every class – not always won by the class winner.  All holders of these awards were invited to present themselves in the ring prior to the judging of the Show Supreme Championship, the winner being presented with a special sash kindly sponsored by Bradley Beardmore. The winner was  Victoria Cook riding her coloured pony Braaid Steady Teddy. Having judged for us last year Bradley kindly sources all the UK panel judges for the club and organises booking flights, etc. for which the committee is very grateful.

The final task for the judges was to decide the Show Supreme Champion which was presented to Lottie Moore’s grey mare Clonmoran’s Skyrofino ridden by Anna Higgins with Reserve going to Jade Woodward’s Thoroughbred mare Perfectly Presented ridden by Breisha Subachus.

The club would like to extend their thanks to Mr Mark Hempsall for the use of Ballacooiley for our shows this year, to our judges and their stewards and to all those who have supported the club this season.  Shows of this size are expensive  to  organise so if anyone would like to be involved with sponsorship in 2019 please get in touch with any committee member.  Help in preparing the show field and in the running of the events would also be much appreciated.

July 2018 results

June 2018 Show Report

June 2018 Results

May 2018 Show Report

May 2018 Results

Ellan Vannin Native Pony Association held their first show of the 2018 season on Sunday 13thMay. This year the club has had to move to a new venue and was made very welcome at Ballacooiley Equestrian Centre, Ballaugh, by owners Mr and Mrs M Hempsall. After such a wet winter, and heavy rain on the preceding Friday, there was a little concern as to how the ground would stand up to show traffic but being sited on well-drained sandy soil this proved not to be a problem and competitors agreed the surface rode well in both the showing and working hunter rings. A total of 40 horses and ponies appeared for judging which is similar to last year’s figure for the first show, with several new faces – both human and equine, which bodes well for the season ahead. 

The morning In-hand classes were judged by Mrs Helen Kinrade, ably stewarded by her daughter, Emma, while in the afternoon Mrs Pat Lenten took over to judge the ridden classes with steward Lottie Barham. Both judges had some good sized classes before them and all competitors were thoroughly put through their paces by both judges before any decisions were made. Mrs Kinrade choose Michelle Garforth’s Fell Pony, Lunedale Warrior Queen for her Champion, with Glenn Faragher gaining Reserve Champion with Una, an unregistered Welsh Section C. In the afternoon Mrs Lenten picked Connemara, Cohra’s Birthday Boy, owned and ridden by Joanne Nicholls-Black as champion with Tayla Griffin riding Hardrich Charity for Reserve. Congratulations to these four and to all who participated.

While the showing rings were busy the Working Hunter ring was also available for practice and was well used by both novice and more experienced horse and ponies. Thanks to Tracey Scott for overseeing this ring.

The club would like to thank Mr and Mrs Hempsall for the use of their land, Mrs Helen Kinrade and Mrs Pat Lenten for judging, Lottie, Emma and Tracey for stewarding, also the St John Ambulance for attending and Charlotte Geoghegan for catering. The next event is the Spring Show to be held at Ballacooiley on the 17thJune with 3 very experienced UK judges, details and entry forms available on the club website.